“It is a government that is smaller, more cohesive. It corresponds to a change that is not merely cosmetic, it is profound and ensures, above all, through the personalities for actions in the economic and financial areas, political and governmental experience, which allow us to take for granted that there will be no delay in the processes, on the contrary, more efficiency, more cohesion”, said the president of the Azorean executive, in Angra do Heroísmo, on the sidelines of a hearing with the Representative of the Republic for the Autonomous Region of the Azores, Pedro Catarino.

With this remodelling, four regional secretaries leave the Azorean executive: Joaquim Bastos e Silva (Finance, Planning and Public Administration), Mário Mota Borges (Tourism and Energy), Susete Amaro (Culture, Science and Digital Transition) and Ana Carvalho (Public Works and Communications).

The current Regional Government, which results from a coalition between PSD, CDS-PP and PPM and has parliamentary support from three other deputies (CH, IL and independent), took office in November 2020, after the PS won the elections without an absolute majority.